July Mystery Kit Creation

July is over, and I have a surprise for you!  I have decided to share MY creation with the July 2012 Mystery Craft Contest Kit.  I haven’t had many takers YET on the mystery kit and I understand.  It is hard to purchase something when you really have no idea what may be in the kit, or what you could create.  Well, now you get an idea of just what may be possible.  This is what came in my surprise box (okay, it wasn’t a surprise to me):

Included is a pack of 12×12 double-sided scrapbooking paper, a spool of blue jute and yellow memory floss, a package of Tim Holtz Fragments and a set of alcohol inks.  Now if you remember, the rules say I have to incorporate EVERY product in the kit into my final project.  I was able to use other supplies in my crafting stash, and that I did.

I have a great love for chipboard.  This easy to work heavy duty paper product makes a perfect base for all sorts of boxes and home decor projects.  If you haven’t yet, check out another of my chipboard creations here.
So I got to cutting, measuring and cutting (I have a hard time with the measure twice, cut once philosophy…), gluing, layering and cutting some more.  Then I punched a few holes, layered corkboard together with chipboard and something you may find unique – Barbecue Skewers!  Yes, I did raid my barbecue supplies for part of this project.  I used the alcohol inks on the acrylic fragments, added embellishments with the floss and jute, added a few more holes, layered a little more paper and finally got out my thread and needle to sew my colored fragments to the lid of my box.  After all was said and done I filled my new creation and sat back to enjoy my handiwork.

Can you tell what it is yet?

I made a charging station for all of my electronic devices.  (Okay, don’t tell my dad but I am not going to be keeping this-at least I don’t plant to now- it will be a Christmas gift for the gadget guru.)  It features a separate charging bay for a USB ‘a’ connector, a USB ‘b’ connector and a Mini USB connector. A compartment is hidden by a small cork board lid allowing you to attach notes, pictures, even inspiring quotes easily and in full sight.  The rim of the box is lined with the yellow memory floss knotted in the corners adding interest and strength to the box.  The front of the box features a cute plaque set off with a frame made from the blue jute. I used the jute to stitch the little fragment labels to the box, allowing quick recognition of just what type of connector you are reaching for.

After completing the project I still have PLENTY of supplies left for an identical charging station, or an entirely different project. In addition to the contents of the mystery kit I used 8″x10″ chipboard sheets (I think 4 sheets?), part of a 12″x12″ cork board sheet, barbecue skewers, 4 diamond brads, rub-on accents and craft glue.

What could you create with this not-so Mystery Craft Kit?  Order the August Mystery Craft Kit from Home and Garden Welcome, create something amazing and maybe YOU could WIN the August contest!

Happy Crafting

~Nikki

6 Comments

Filed under Artistic Expression, Gift Ideas

6 responses to “July Mystery Kit Creation

  1. Pingback: Archiver’s Designer Favorites Kit « This [Crazy] Crafty Mama Creates

  2. Hi there, after reading this amazing article i am also delighted to share
    my familiarity here with colleagues.

  3. Very great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to
    mention that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your weblog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing for your feed and I am hoping
    you write again soon!

  4. Hi there, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just wondering
    if you get a lot of spam responses? If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything you can advise?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any assistance is very much appreciated.

  5. You can definitely see your enthusiasm within the article you write.
    The arena hopes for more passionate writers such as you who are
    not afraid to say how they believe. At all times follow
    your heart.

Leave a Reply

