A Square Meal

I HATE forming hamburger patties. My family loves hamburgers (or as my daughter at 3 called them – ‘hand’ burgers – after all, you ate them with your hand).  So, anyway I was feeling generous this week when grocery shopping and picked up some ground beef to make hamburgers.

Another reason I am not a fond of hamburgers is a hunk of unseasoned meat between two pieces of  bread just does not have much appeal.  I like to have some flavor hidden inside those patties.  Not being one to much follow a recipe I came up with a close approximation of what I threw together.

Asian Inspired Hamburgers

  • 3 lbs ground beef
  • 1/2 c Soy Sauce
  • 1/2 medium white onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic crushed
  • 1 tbsp Black Pepper
  • 1/2 tbsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger

Mix all the ingredients together and HERE IS MY MAGIC TRICK!

I don’t like the feeling of grease on my hands from forming the burgers.  They are hardly ever the same size causing them to cook unevenly and if they aren’t formed tight enough they fall apart then you try to flip them.  Well fear no more, I have solved all of those problems. (And darn it all I didn’t have my camera!)

After mixing up my hamburger stuffs I pulled out one of my large rectangle baking dishes.  Putting a freezer bag on my hand (or if you don’t mind getting your hand greasy you don’t need the bag) press your burger evenly into the pan.  Make sure you pack in in tightly so your burgers stay together.  Finally, using a sharp knife cut through your meat mixture to make spatties (Yet again, my daughter – square patties).  If your burger is soft you may find it easier to get a good clean cut if you put your pan in the freezer for a few minutes before cutting. Based on what I saw here are my recommendations for pan sizes:

  • 1 lb burger 8″ x 8″ pan cut in quarters
  • 2 lb burger 7″ x 11″ or 9″x12″ cut in eights
  • 3 lb burger 10″x15″ cut in twelfths

Finally, cook your ‘spatties’ to your desired done-ness and enjoy!

Hope you all find this helpful!

Nikki

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Grilling and Barbecues

Leave a Reply

