Faux Brick Texture

Have you seen all the faux brick in the mixed media art projects and wondered just how that was done?  Well, it is quite simple, and I will show you how you can create a brick wall on any art or craft surface in just an evening.

To begin you need to gather your supplies.  You will need a surface to create your texture (I am using a page in my art journal).  You will also need some molding paste.  I am in love with the Golden Light Molding Paste.  It is super easy to work with, is flexible when dry and will absorb water colors when dry allowing you to blend your colors when painting your surface.
You will also need a pallet knife or other utensil for spreading your paste and creating a semi-smooth surface and either a sharpened pencil, stylus or other tool to carve ‘mortar’ lines in between your bricks.

The molding paste has the texture of a medium bodied frosting.  Spread a layer of paste over your surface where you’d like the brick texture.  A layer of about 1/8″ is perfect.  I feathered the edges of the paste so it would almost fade into the page. Once you have your paste spread across the surface you can begin to tool the surface.

Using a pencil I carved horizontal lines in my molding paste about 3/8″ – 1/2″ apart.  How far apart your lines are all depends on the scale you want in your brick wall.  If you want it to look close have a larger distance between the lines, far away make your lines tighter.  Once you have your horizontal lines carved in begin to carve your vertical separations.  Your vertical lines should be about 2 times the distance as was between your horizontal lines.  All these lines/measurements boil down to one thing – carve a brick pattern into your paste.

When you are carving the paste you will need to keep something close by to collect the extra paste from your stylus (or pencil if you are fancy like me).  Make sure that you add your border lines even between the ‘bricks’ where your paste fades in to your background.

Set your project aside and allow the molding paste to dry completely.  This can be anywhere from 20 minutes to an hour or more depending on how thick your layer of molding paste was.  Once it is dry you can gently rub your hand across the surface to remove any extra globs of paste that may have been left by your carving.

Now comes the really fun part – coloring your wall!

It is up to you how you would like to add color to your faux brick wall.  You can use acrylic paints in reds/browns/greys and make a traditional red brick wall.  Here I used a dark grey to add the mortar in the bricks.

In the piece I made for this tutorial I went for a different look.  I wanted the look of an old whitewashed brick wall.  Using Glimmer Mist sprays in Nougat, Black Magic and Fern I sprayed my surface.  The molding paste is absorbent so the wet spray soaks into the surface of my ‘bricks’, and the colors blended beautifully without much manipulation. You can allow the spray to dry on its own, but I am impatient so I used my heat tool.

After my bricks were dry I needed to add some mortar between my joints.  I could have used a water brush while my glimmer mist was still wet and helped it go find all the nooks and crannies but I wanted a darker look. Using a water brush and an iridescent watercolor paint I painted the mortar joints between my bricks with a deep brown.  Because the molding paste is so absorbent the watercolor paint bleeds into the brick, automatically mixing with the paint that was applied earlier.

And here is the final product, along with some closer views.

Notice the different appearance you get between a colorwash on the molding paste and the acrylic paste.  The molding paste is so absorbent the water colors soak in and bleed quickly.  The acrylic paints don’t soak in as well, they sit more on the surface.  If you want to use products like Glimmer Mist or Perfect Pearls Sprays on the brick wall and DO NOT want the paint to soak in spread a thin layer of gesso, acrylic gel medium or acrylic paint over your molding paste and let it dry.

I hope you have enjoyed this tutorial and will try to create your own textured backgrounds.  If you do, please share them with us all at Home and Garden Welcome!

Happy Crafting!

~Nikki

3 Comments

Filed under Artistic Expression

3 responses to “Faux Brick Texture

  1. dinglefoot

    Gorgeous effect! I love it!

  2. Pingback: Working it out « My Creative Chaotic Life

  3. Pingback: Working it out | My Creative Chaotic Life

Leave a Reply

