Branching Out

I wanted to share with you all an all time favorite of mine.   This page I made at a scrapbooking weekend with my Lil’ Sis. Every fall we go away for a long weekend to a local resort for an all-inclusive (okay, not the alcohol….) crop.

This picture of my son was amazing (in my mind). I loved the way he looked so small in contrast to the large stony out croppings around the Horseshoe Falls in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula.

As much as I like this picture, It is hard to focus on Erik as he is headed down the path. To remedy that I cut him from the photo, mounted the cut out on a coordinating paper, tied a bit of twine around and placed him back where he belongs.

Next, because of the little boy/big world, growing into a man angle I decided to take I added a photo of my husband and son in the little cave along the path and typed my journaling on a piece of vellum. I liked the way the picture showed through the vellum.

There was an area on the page that needed to be filled, and I didn’t really know how to fill it. I decided to take advantage of the tree that was growing in the foreground. Using acrylic paints I extended it out of the photo on to my background. (I absolutely LOVE it!) For the title, I used my cricut to cut the words out of the trimmed part of my smaller picture. Before I took the paper out of the machine I replaced the blade with a black cricut marker and reset the machine to outline my letters.

Finally, for accents I used heavy cardstock that had been distressed, inked, stamped, sprayed and otherwise dealt with and tied them with more twine to repeat the twine on the picture and added a few metal findings to bring in a more masculine touch.

And after all was said and done this is my final page. I have to say this is one of my all time favorites! Give this technique a try with a photo of your own and I’m sure you will love your results as much as I love mine!

Happy Crafting!

~Nikki

This post can also be found on the Things Crafty blog, where I am a member of the design team.

2 Comments

Filed under Artistic Expression

2 responses to “Branching Out

  1. Pingback: Playing around « My Creative Chaotic Life

  2. Pingback: Playing around | My Creative Chaotic Life

Leave a Reply

